Athlete Spotlight: Andi G.

Athlete Spotlight: Andi G.

Hometown: Barrington, IL

Age: 66

Profession: Retired RN

What did you do for fitness before CrossFit? Did you play any sports growing up?  Before CrossFit I did boot camp 3x weekly, most recently, before my return to Naples, I started more yoga and left boot camp! Growing up my only physical activity was ice skating; the village flooded the park behind my house.  I loved that.

How did you first get exposed to CrossFit?  I first became exposed to CrossFit here in Naples at this gym.

What was your first workout and how did it go? How did you feel after?  My first workout was the Masters Class, which I totally enjoyed, for a few reasons.  The workout was hard, but not impossible, it didn’t scare me away from any future classes.  The folks that are regulars in the class welcomed me wholeheartedly. One feels part of a really neat special group of people. After the workout I felt terrific, I felt every part of me was stretched, taken to the max of my strength and proud of what I accomplished in just one initial session.

Favorite CF Movements: Ring pulls, air squats

Least Favorite Movements: Jump rope

Favorite Cheat Meal: Kentucky Fried Chicken

Favorite Healthy Meal: Homemade pizza

What’s one thing that most people don’t know about you?  This is a hard question to answer, I’m pretty much an open book…but, I do crave private time.

What sort of changes have you seen in your body, health, and fitness since starting CF (before/after)? Definitely firmer, less abdominal girth, trying harder to make wise food choices.  I notice that I feel lazy and slouchy when I miss a session.

What sort of unexpected changes in your life have you experienced out of taking on something like CrossFit? Great sense of accomplishment

Any advice for people just getting started or new to CrossFit? Stick with your sessions, the rewards far outweigh any other group class.

What are your hobbies, interests and/or talents outside of CrossFit?  Golf is high among my interests, I also love to read, cook and bake.  Most recently, I began volunteering at an animal shelter.