Athlete Spotlight: Justin C.

Athlete Spotlight: Justin C.

Hometown: Naples

Age: 30

Profession: Owner of Gnarly Harley Paddle

What did you do for fitness before CrossFit? Did you play any sports growing up? Before Crossfit, I wasn’t really on any program. Since my sophomore year of high school, I trained for the military. Workouts HIIT, swimming and running. I played lacrosse and spent most of my time wakeboarding, skateboarding or skimboarding. 

How did you first get exposed to CrossFit? My first exposure to Crossfit was in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba. I was limited on resources, however, I found Crossfit.com and attempted the WODs posted with limited equipment. After returning stateside I trialed a Crossfit gym. Unfortunately, I had to deploy and could not continue...

What was your first workout and how did it go? How did you feel after? Does the 300 workout count? If not, I believe Fran was my first. Crushed my soul 

Favorite CF Movements: Snatch and Muscle Ups even though I’m mediocre at them.

Least Favorite Movements: wall walks,  handstand push-ups and running

Favorite Cheat Meal: Haagen Daz Banana peanut butter chocolate chip. Yes that’s all in one pint.

Favorite Healthy Meal: Sushi... unhealthy amounts of sushi.

What's one thing that most people don't know about you? I’ve been in every ocean.

What sort of changes have you seen in your body, health and fitness since starting CF (before/after)? I’m much more in tune with my body and performance. I notice how different foods, sleep and overtraining affect my performance, looks, and recovery.  

What sort of unexpected changes in your life have you experienced out of taking on something like CrossFit? Even though I didn’t get the job, I was able to break an all time record during a timed obstacle course for a state law enforcement agency. 

Any advice for people just getting started or new to CrossFit? Give it 3 months and EAT!

What are your hobbies, interests and/or talents outside of CrossFit? I like to do anything and everything on the water. Kiteboard, wakeboard, SUP, surf, spearfish etc. If you can ride it on the water or take it below I probably do it.