Athlete Spotlight: Megan D.

Athlete Spotlight: Megan D.

Hometown: Wall, NJ

Age: 30

Profession: Coordinator of Afterschool and Summer Program at a non-profit

What did you do for fitness before CrossFit? Did you play any sports growing up? I did a mix of yoga, running, and cardio at other gyms. Growing up I played soccer, track, and was a competitive dancer. You couldn’t get me to stay still!

How did you first get exposed to CrossFit? A few of my friends had tried it and found great success. I was nervous to try CrossFit since I had very minimal experience with lifting weights (weight rooms at gyms are intimidating!)

What was your first workout and how did it go? How did you feel after? My first workout was a 6:30 am class with Coach Luke. It was so awesome! He was so encouraging and explained everything thoroughly, so I felt comfortable right off the bat. It was challenging, but it made me want to go back and get better and stronger.

Favorite CF Movements: Hitting my first wall handstand!

Least Favorite Movements: Prowler- and I swear Brett loves to torture me with it on Friday afternoons

Favorite Cheat Meal: Pasta Bolognese

Favorite Healthy Meal: Chicken, rice, and veggies

What’s one thing that most people don’t know about you? My favorite thing to do is snowboard! I frequently skipped my college classes so that I could hit some fresh powder.

What sort of unexpected changes in your life have you experienced out of taking on something like CrossFit?  I have gone from hitting snooze multiple times in the morning to hopping out of bed at 5:30 to get ready for CF. Because of this, I am taking sleep more seriously, making sure I get to bed early enough for a good night’s rest. I amaze myself each day, doing things I thought only serious weightlifters could do!

Any advice for people just getting started or new to CrossFit? Don’t be afraid to ask your coach questions. They are here to help you and keep you safe, and are more than happy to answer what you might feel is a silly question.

What are your hobbies, interests and/or talents outside of CrossFit? I love being outside! Some of my favorite things are playing with my dogs, hiking, traveling, paddleboarding, and riding bikes. I also do a lot of work with local animal shelters.